Microsoft – Learn to Fucking Spell!!!

No I’m not apologising for the title of that post, because this is fucking outrageous.

I just downloaded and installed IE8 for Windows XP, and despite having configured Google as my search provider, imagine my surprise when the first thing IE8 threw up on first launch (after a reboot no less) was the Microsoft Search page listed below.

Austrailia???

Austrailia???

That’s right – Austrailia. Now given that I didn’t take any action whatsoever other than launching the browser, I can only assume this is hardcoded somewhere, either in the browser itself or on backend server. Perhaps the biggest joke is that it throws up a “no results found” page, with a suggestion that perhaps I meant to search for “australia windows internet explorer welcome aspx”. Yes Microsoft, had I actually typed anything, I sure as fuck wouldn’t have misspelled the name of my own beloved country.

I can only imagine what the reaction will be like in a few hours time when Australia has woken up and gone to work / school and discover what I have just now. In the meantime I’ll be doing my best to get the word out on this! For the rest of the world, I imagine the way to verify this is to change your regional settings to “English (Australia)” like I do on my systems (even though I live in London).

Well done Microsoft.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Microsoft – Learn to Fucking Spell!!!”

  1. ruste Says:

    fucking a-holes !

  2. Mike Laverick Says:

    How about this one – you will need to be on the vSphere4 beta prog to get to the URL… http://communities.vmware.com//thread/203409?tstart=0

Leave a Reply

