Bringing the Cloud Down to Earth

Well the London VMUG has come and gone, and I’ve had my 15 minutes of fame… actually maybe a little bit less, time was a bit short and I rushed it a little bit. As with most VMUGs, it’s hard to gauge the level of experience and size of environments in the room. To some people, 1000 VM’s is a lot. Others have ESX host counts around that number. So I wasn’t sure how relevant people would find my presentation, but I felt the information was worthwhile presenting anyway.

As the title suggests, I was talking about some practical considerations (10 of them to be precise) that you should think about if you’re looking to develop an Enterprise scale internal compute cloud – which I am very proud to say I can speak about with experience as our first platform release went into code freeze 2 weeks ago and is currently in UAT. I am hoping at some point we’ll be able to go public with what we have, time will tell.

But in the meantime, have a read of my presentation and let me know your thoughts (I’m still closing comments on here 2 weeks after each post due to the high amount of spam, but you can always get me on twitter or email vinternals at gmail dot com). The presentation is suitably minimalistic, and so I will embark on a series of posts talking to each slide in order to bring some clarity to the points. So if anything in there interests you, be sure to keep an eye out on Twitter for post announcements over the next few weeks!

Tags:

6 Responses to “Bringing the Cloud Down to Earth”

  1. Alan Renouf Says:

    Stu, great presentation mate, It was really interesting seeing the issues you had come across, one of the first presentations I have actually seen where someone has done something with the cloud rather than just talk about it. Very interesting to see that the processes are the key thing to watch in all of this and good to hear how you dealt with them. Great stuff !

  2. uberVU - social comments Says:

    Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by vinternals: New Post – Bringing the Cloud Down to Earth http://tinyurl.com/yaw5rmc

  3. Ricky El-Qasem Says:

    Stu actually this was a great real-world insight into Cloud usage. It was interesting to hear how you had to tie up the loose ends in house. I don’t want to use this thread to plug the company I work for but made me think is there anything you think we could do to help clients looking at cloud.

  4. stu Says:

    Thanks guys, glad you liked it 🙂

  5. Rob Upham Says:

    Without wanting to appear sycophantic, for me this was the best session of the VMUG. Stu was able to prove that Cloud is more than marketing hype and can be (and *is*) very much a reality for those organisations smart enough to take it seriously and invest. The presentation wouldn’t have been out of place at the “Gartner on Virtualisation: Strategies for Managing Large Virtual Environments” seminar some of us attended that morning across town.

    Having now also seen a walk-through of the system in action I can confirm the end product is a great achievement – Stu and his colleagues deserve a hefty slap on the back for their work, and I sincerely hope they get to show this solution off to a larger audience.
    It is a great example of how virtualisation coupled with well-thought-through orchestration and automation can enable orgs to “work smarter, not harder”.

    (disclaimer – I work for VMware and Stu is one of my customers)

Leave a Reply

